Replace the file associated with a document while preserving its metadata, workflow history, document properties, and reviewed or approved rendition.
- Replace the file from a task
- Replace the file by the "Replace file" option
- What happens after the update
Note: To replace a document’s binary file, you must:
- Have the "Replace File User" group added to your permissions
- Be an Initiator, Content Owner, Collaborator when assigned to the relevant task if updating the file from a task.
Existing file upload restrictions, such as supported file types and size limits, still apply.
Replace the binary file
You can replace the file in either of the following ways:
From a task
If you are assigned an "Amend and..." task, open it , click "Start New Circulation" button and use the available option to update the document’s binary file.
Replace the file by the "Replace file" option
If you have the appropriate permissions:
- Open the document.
- Select More Actions.
- Choose "Replace file".
- Choose whether to preserve the current rendition or create a new rendition.
- Select and upload the replacement file.
- Confirm the update.
This action is available in all document lifecycle states.
What happens after the update
After you replace the binary file:
- The uploaded file becomes the document’s current binary.
- The document’s metadata, workflow history, and other properties are preserved.
- The reviewed or approved rendition can be preserved.
- The document’s last modified date is updated.
- An Audit Trail entry records that the document binary was updated.
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.