If you are the Content Owner, Initiator, Collaborator, or Coordinator, you may have the option to change or extend the expiration date with a modified review process.
Navigate to the "More Actions" menu in the bottom right corner of the toolbar, look for "Modify Dates" or "Extend Expiration" and review the job description to determine a fit for your objective. Use "Revision" if you need to update the document itself or change other properties besides date.
Note that users with Content Owner permissions will receive notifications regarding an upcoming expiration. Notifications are sent 90, 60, and 30 days prior to expiration.