Throughout the course of a document’s lifecycle, you may need to make adjustments to its expiration date. This modification can be made by Content Owners, selected Collaborators, and anyone with Coordinator permissions who also has access to view the document. Depending on the situation, it is possible to:
- Update expiration date while in preparation or review
- Modify expiration date on an approved document
- Immediately expire the document (i.e., withdraw)
Update expiration date while in preparation or review
Workflow is in Preparation
While the workflow is in preparation status, the Expiration date can be modified by the Initiator, Content Owner, or Collaborators.
- Open the document.
- Click “Details” in the bottom left toolbar.
- Update the Expiration date field to the desired date. Note: the options available may vary by your organization’s configuration.
Workflow is in Review
If the workflow is in review, the document will first need to be pulled out of review and back to the in preparation stage (i.e., draft status). Initiators, Content Owners, and Collaborators have permissions to perform this action and change document properties, including Expiration date.
- Open the document.
- Click More Actions in the bottom right toolbar.
- Select “Edit”.
- Provide the reason for edits and start a new circulation.
- Click “Details” in the bottom left toolbar.
- Update the Expiration date field to the desired date.
- Click “Save and close details”.
Modify expiration date on an approved document
Depending on your organization's configuration, you may be able to change the expiration date of a document without increasing the document's major version. This is useful when performing a periodic re-review process and there are no changes required to the piece.
- Open the document.
- Click More Actions in the bottom right toolbar.
- Select “Modify Dates”. Note: the options available may differ depending on your organization’s configuration.
-
Fill out the fields and select “Continue”. Note, the user has no access to change other fields or update the file. If these changes are necessary, use the Revision job instead.
- Select Assignees and start the Review.
- Once the workflow is approved, the revised date will be updated. The change will be recorded in the workflow’s Audit Trail. If the workflow is rejected, the previous Expiration date will remain.
Immediately withdraw the document
By default, the system withdraws a document once it reaches its expiration date. To withdraw a document before its set expiration date, follow these steps.
- Open the document.
- Click "More actions" in the bottom toolbar.
- Select “Withdraw”. Note: the options may differ based on your organization’s configuration.
- Provide a reason for withdrawal and select “Continue” or “Complete”.
- If applicable, add Assignees and start the Review.
Once a workflow is approved, the document status will be updated to Withdrawn. If the workflow is rejected, the document status will remain Rejected.
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.